Tim Gajser Voted Best Rider Sponsored by Athena of the MXGP of Flanders-Belgium

MONACO (Principality of Monaco) 2 August 2021 – This season MXGP and Athena are bringing a very exciting competition to the FIM Motocross World Championship!

Throughout the year fans have the opportunity to vote for the ‘Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena’ in the MXGP category, with the votes tallied at every Grand Prix. A rider of the GP is chosen during each event in 2021 and the rider who receives the most points by the end of the season will walk away with the ultimate prize and be presented with the special award for ‘Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena’!

Every Grand Prix Sunday a dedicated post is shared on MXGP’s official Facebook page under which fans can comment who their favourite rider of the weekend is, with voting closing after the second MXGP race of the day. The comments are then counted and the rider with the most votes is chosen as the best rider of that GP. 

During the MXGP of Flanders-Belgium, MXGP Championship leader, Tim Gajser of Team HRC was voted as the best rider of the Grand Prix despite a tough day that saw the Slovenian crash out on several occasion as he pushed for top positions. Gajser collected 35% of the votes, while Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli placed second with 28% and Jeffrey Herlings with 16% upon his return to MXGP action!

Tim Gajser edges out in the competition with four points, while Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings are in joint second with a point each.

Next up the action heads to Kegums for the MXGP of Latvia this weekend where the Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena will continue!


Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena Classifications



Tim Gajser


Antonio Cairoli


Jeffrey Herlings


Infront Moto Racing



MONACO (Principality of Monaco) 18 October 2021 – MXGP is thrilled to continue the Fox Holeshot competition, that is running throu

intu-Xanadù - ARROYOMOLINOS (Spain) 17 October - Having got to grips with the demands and characteristics of intu-Xanadú Arroyomolinos

intu-Xanadù - ARROYOMOLINOS (Spain) 17 October – Championship leaders Jeffrey Herlings of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

intu-Xanadù - ARROYOMOLINOS (Spain) 16 October – The penultimate round of the FIM Women’s Motocross World Championship has conclud

Related news

PIETRAMURATA (Trentino) 25 October 2021 – FIM Motocross World Championship conti

PIETRAMURATA (Trentino) 25 October 2021 – Round 14 of the FIM Motocross World Championshi

Round 15 of the FIM Motocross World Championship is taking place this Tuesday an