Amazing MXGP Awards Ceremony Concludes 2018 Season in Imola

IMOLA (Italy) 30 September - Just a short two hours after the final race of the 2018 MXGP season completed at the famous Autodromo Enzo & Dino Ferrari circuit of Imola, the annual MXGP Awards ceremony took place at the same venue.

The event is the prize giving ceremony for the entire season of accomplishments and was held on the stage of Imola’s top of the line media center. The awards hosted by Paul Malin and Lisa Leyland and live streamed worldwide on and the MXGP Facebook page in their entirety.

Youthstream President Mr. Giuseppe Luongo and FIM/CMS Director Mr. Tony Skillington personally handed out the awards to the 2018 FIM Motocross World Champions Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado along with all the industry award winners.

Dr. Wolfgang Srb joined Mr. Luongo on stage to award the 2018 European Champions Mathys Boisrame, Brad Anderson, Thibault Benistant, Camden Mc Lellan, and Brando Rispoli, as well as the FIM Junior, WMX and VMX World Champions Bailey Makiewicz, Caden Braswell, Braden Plath, Kiara Fontanesi, and Martin Zerava.

Heinz Kinigardner presented a cheque of 10,000 euro as a donation to the Wings For Life charity while MX2 rider Jago Geerts received 5,000 euros as the winner of the Jan de Groot award which honors the most promising young talent. Besides Anthony Rodriguez received the Fair Play Award, a brand new prize, with a check of 5,000 euro for helping Thomas Kjer Olsen out of dangers way during the MXGP of the Netherlands.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado were welcomed on stage as the winners of the Tag Heuer Fastest Lap competition where the received exquisite watches as an award.

Fox Head Europe’s Marketing Manager Austin Hoover also joined Mr. Luongo on stage to award Antonio Cairoli and Jorge Prado with their cheques for 10,000 and 5,000 euros as winners of the Fox Holeshot competition.

For the complete list of award winners, see below:  

MXGP Manufacturer World Champion: KTM

MX2 Manufacturer World Champion: KTM

WMX Manufacturer World Champion: Yamaha

MXGP Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

MX2 Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

WMX Winning Team: MXFonta Racing Yamaha

Mechanic of the Year: Peter Tillerkvist - KTM Motocross Technical Coordinator

Lifetime Career Award: Harry Everts

Steve Bruhn Award Journalist of the year: Juergen Schrooten

Photojournalist of the year: David Bulmer

Best Digital Platform: Juan Pablo Acevedo/MX1ONBOARD

“Jan De Groot” Award: Jago Geerts

FairPlay Award: Anthony Rodriguez

Motocross MXGP Best Cooperation: MXGP of Russia

Motocross MXGP Best Race Track: Argentina, Neuquen

Motocross MXGP Best Media Centre: MXGP of Italy, Imola

Motocross MXGP Best Paddock: MXGP of Switzwerland

Motocross MXGP Best Promotion: MXGP of Indonesia

Motocross MXGP Best Infrastructure: MXGP of Turkey

Wings For Life: Heinz Kinigardner

EMX 65 European Champion: Brando Rispoli (ITA)

EMX 85 European Champion: Camden Mc Lellan (RSA)

EMX 125 European Champion: Thibault Benistant

EMX 250 European Champion: Mathys Boisrame

EMX 300 European Champion: Brad Anderson

65cc Junior World Champion: Braden Plath (AUS)

85 Junior World Champion: Caden Braswell (USA)

125 Junior World Champion: Bailey Malkiewicz (AUS)

Veterans’ World Cup Winner: Martin Zerava (CZ)

Women’s World Champion: Kiara Fontanesi (ITA)

TAG HEUER Best Lap Challenge: Jeffrey Herlings & Jorge Prado

FOX HOLESHOT Award: Antonio Cairoli & Jorge Prado

Motocross MXGP Best Organizer: The Netherlands, Assen

MX2 World Champion: Jorge Prado

MXGP World Champion: Jeffrey Herlings






MXGP of Italy




The MXGP Paddock was saddened this morning as news came through that American ex-rider Mike “Gunner” Healey passed away at home in

LOMBOK (Indonesia) 5 July 2024 – After a week where the teams, riders, and crews could enjoy the surrounding attractions of the Indonesian islands

LOMBOK (Indonesia) 5 July 2024 – If the second straight weekend of action on the island of Lombok is anything like the first one, then we are in fo

Defending MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado opened up his Indonesian experience with a victory last weekend, and while that win isn’

Related news

Loket (Czech Republic) 18 July 2024 – The MXGP Motocross World Championships make a return to Eur

MONACO (Principality of Monaco) 16 July 2024 – With one of the most exciting MXGP season ever und