A Decade of Wins in Sweden

The Swedish Grand Prix has had a rollercoaster journey over the last 10 years, with the Uddevalla circuit missing from the calendar in 2016, 2018, 2020 and 2021, the last two seasons due to Covid. Now back on the schedule for 2022 and the whole Grand Prix paddock is excited to head back to the sand circuit.

Prior to 2012, there was one man who completely dominated the Swedish Grand Prix, and that man was Italian legend Antonio Cairoli, who took victories in MX2 in 2005, 2007 and 2008, and then in MXGP in 2009. Of course, Cairoli also added more win in 2013 and 2014, but you can read that below. We thought maybe it is a good idea to look at the winners from the last 10 years.

A decade ago, in 2012 Belgian tough man Clement Desalle captured the GP win with 1-1 scores and in the MX2 class it was Tommy Searle who tasted victory with 2-1 results. A year later Antonio Cairoli won in Sweden with 1-1 results and his love affair with the Swedish track began. In MX2 Jeffrey Herlings won in 2013 with 3-1 results.

A year later and it was again Cairoli with another perfect day and 1-1 and Herlings doing the same in MX2 with 1-1. A change in the winners in 2015 as Romain Febvre added his name to the winner’s box with 1-1 and Tim Gajser scored his first victory there in MX2, with 2-1 scores.

With no Grand Prix run in Sweden in 2016, we had to wait until 2017 when Gajser won his second Grand Prix there, this time in the MXGP class and he scored 1-2 results, while Febvre was second with 6-1. In MX2 it was Jeremy Seewer with 2-2 who stood on top of the podium, while Jorge Prado was second with 1-5 finishes.

Again, the Swedish track missed a Grand Prix in 2018, but in 2019, Dutchman Glenn Coldenhoff won in MXGP with 1-2 results, Gajser was second with 3-1 and in MX2, Tom Vialle won with 2-2 and Jorge Prado was second with 1-4 scores.

So, with the last two years missing out, the Swedish fans are expected to rush to the huge rockface that overlooks the circuit and cheer on the best motocross riders in the world. Can Gajser score his third GP win there, or will Seewer, Febvre or Coldenhoff add to their success?

Obviously the two most successful men at Uddevalla are Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings, but next man up is Gajser and with his 122 points lead, you get the idea he might want to add to his victories in 2015 and 2016.

Geoff Meyer



For 26-year-old Ben Watson, the 2023 season hasn’t been a bad one and while the former MX2 Grand Prix winner would like more than

MONACO (Principality of Monaco) 20 September 2023 - The 2023 FIM Motocross World Championship concludes this weekend with the nine

MONACO (Principailty of Monaco) 19 September 2023 – The 19th and

Related news

For 26-year-old Ben Watson, the 2023 season hasn’t been a bad one and while the

MONACO (Principality of Monaco) 20 September 2023 - The 2023 FIM Motocross World Champion