Gajser Adds to History of MXGP Champions Trophy

The MXGP Trophy was introduced in 2020, that saw the beginning of a new tradition in the FIM Motocross World Championship, paying homage to all the past, present, and future world champions of the premier MXGP class.

Team HRC’s Tim Gajser was in fact the first rider to ever received the coveted cup when he picked up his fourth world title in 2020. Last year, the trophy changed hands and went to Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings who won a historic title chase against Gajser and Kawasaki Racing Team MXGP’s Romain Febvre as the championship went down to the last race.

After the heartbreak of losing the title last season, Gajser was more motivated than ever to take back the crown and the trophy in 2022 and he did just that with impressive stats that included 14 race wins, 10 Grand Prix victories, 13 podiums and 185 laps led.

The newly crowned world champion was presented with the impressive art-piece by Infront Moto Racing CEO David Luongo at the podium, following the final race of the season in Afyonkarahisar, Turkiye.

About the trophy: The MXGP trophy is made up of two main materials, aluminium and carbon fibre base is formed by 6 pieces of anodized aluminium in three different shades: red at the bottom, and black and grey in the middle alongside the MXGP logo. In the grey parts we can find some filigrees inspired by motocross such as the starting gates of the tracks, the teeth on the bike sprockets, and more distinctive elements. The top of the trophy is formed by 16 twisted carbon fibre blades shaped into a cup to resemble the championship logo. The 20 stainless steel plaques wrapping the trophy are engraved with all the world champions’ names from 1957 until now in the main class.

The size and weight of the trophy represent the toughness of the competition, and its uneven sharp angles are meant to capture the skilled performance of the riders and the thrill and speed of the races.

The trophy was designed by the Barcelona-based Garcia Rojals Studio, that holds a long-time global reputation for designing outstanding racing trophies, including the MotoGP World Championship Trophy and the World SBK Trophy.

From left to right: Infront Moto Racing CEO David Luongo, Tim Gajser, FIM/CMS Director Antonio Alia Portela, FIM President Jorge Viegas

Infront Moto Racing



RIMINI (Italy), 7 December 2022 - Over the weekend, the Annual MXGP Organisers Meeting took place at the Litoraneo Hotel in Rimini

While the period of time between October and February is considered the ‘off season’ by

With the 2023 Season starting a little later than usual, in March in Argentina, I was surprised when I called two of the two rider

Van de Ven's journey to her maiden world title was not an easy one, in fact, the Dutch rider finished as runner-up a total of five times, four of w

Related news

RIMINI (Italy), 7 December 2022 - Over the weekend, the Annual MXGP Organisers Meeting

While the period of time between Octob

It’s December and MXGP is excited to start the countdown to Christmas with the 2022 MXGP