Tim Gajser Voted Best Rider Sponsored by Athena of the Bitci MXGP of Turkey

AFYON (Turkey) 6 September 2021 – This season MXGP and Athena are bringing a very exciting competition to the FIM Motocross World Championship!

Throughout the year fans have the opportunity to vote for the ‘Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena’ in the MXGP category, with the votes tallied at every Grand Prix. A rider of the GP is chosen during each event in 2021 and the rider who receives the most points by the end of the season will walk away with the ultimate prize and be presented with the special award for ‘Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena’!

Every Grand Prix Sunday a dedicated post is shared on MXGP’s official Facebook page under which fans can comment who their favourite rider of the weekend is, with voting closing after the second MXGP race of the day. The comments are then counted and the rider with the most votes is chosen as the best rider of that GP. 

During the Bitci MXGP of Turkey, MXGP race two winner Tim Gajser of Team HRC was voted as the best rider of the Turkish Grand Prix, as the Slovenian continues to lead the MXGP World Championship. Gajser received 37% of the votes, while Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado place joined second with 22.2%!

Tim Gajser edges out in the competition with five points, ahead of Jeffrey Herlings on two and Antonio Cairoli with one.


Best Rider of the Year Sponsored by Athena Competition Standings



Tim Gajser


Jeffrey Herlings


Antonio Cairoli


Infront Moto Racing



The MXGP Paddock was saddened this morning as news came through that American ex-rider Mike “Gunner” Healey passed away at home in

LOMBOK (Indonesia) 5 July 2024 – After a week where the teams, riders, and crews could enjoy the surrounding attractions of the Indonesian islands

LOMBOK (Indonesia) 5 July 2024 – If the second straight weekend of action on the island of Lombok is anything like the first one, then we are in fo

Defending MXGP World Champion Jorge Prado opened up his Indonesian experience with a victory last weekend, and while that win isn’

Related news

On July 18, the organizing committee of the MXGP China Shanghai Station held a p

Get ready for an exhilarating deep dive into the latest episode of