Magical MXGP awards ceremony in Maggiora

MAGGIORA (Italy), 24 September 2016 – The world’s fastest motocross riders, as well as the biggest industry names, brands and organizers, all gathered at Maggiora Park, the venue that is hosting the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations presented by Fiat Professional, this evening for the annual MXGP Awards.

The award ceremony took place on top of the spectacular infrastructure that is built directly behind the start line, the Skybox Terrace, and was hosted by MXGP-TV personalities Paul Malin and Lisa Leyland.

Youthstream President Mr. Giuseppe Luongo and FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito personally handed out the awards to the 2016 FIM Motocross World Champions Tim Gajser and Jeffrey Herlings, and to the industry award winners, although Tim Gajser couldn’t make it this evening after a crash in while practicing in Slovenia during the week has sidelined him this weekend, therefore the award was collected by the owner of Honda Gariboldi Mr. Giacomo Gariboldi.

Dr. Wolfgang Srb joined Mr. Luongo on stage to acknowledge the 2016 European Champions Edvards BidzansRene HoferEmil WeckmanJago Geerts, Mike Kras and Thomas Kjer Olsen, as well as the FIM Junior, WMX and VMX World Champions, Kirill Vorobyev, Rene HoferJago GeertsLivia Lancelot and Mats Nilsson.

In addition, Youthstream awarded the Journalist of the year, Pascal Haudiquert, Photographer of the year, Ray Archer, and the best digital platform, MX Vice. The 2016 EMX250 Champion Thomas Kjer Olsen was also awarded as the winner of the Jan de Groot award, an award that honors the most promising young talent.

Youthstream also donates 10,000 to the Wings for Life charity every year and this year the cheque was collected on behalf of the foundation by Heinz Kinigadner.

Tag Heuer’s Mr. Olivier Volery awarded Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings with an exquisite Tag Heuer watch each as the winners of the Tag Heuer Fastest Lap Competition, although Tim Gajser’s watch was collected by his team owner, Giacomo Gariboldi.

A Fox Head Europe representative also joined Mr. Luongo on stage to award Antonio Cairoli and Max Anstie with their cheques for €10,000 and €5,000 as the winners of the Fox Holeshot competition.

Adding something extra special to the evening, some of the most celebrated names in motocross, David Bailey, Johnny O’Mara, Ricky Johnson, Stefan Everts, Jean-Michel Bayle, Michele Rinaldi, Harry Everts, Pit Beirer, Antonio Cairoli, Roger De Coster, Dave Thorpe, Dave Stijbos, Jacky Martens, James Dobb, Jacky Vimond, Heinz Kinigadner and Yves Demaria took to the stage as a token of appreciation to Giuseppe Luongo and all he has done for the sport. The champions, past and present, awarded Mr. Luongo, on behalf of the motocross world, with a silver plate for being the best promoter in the history of motocross. It was an emotional moment for Mr. Luongo who started out on his journey to becoming a pioneer of motocross right here in Maggiora as the promoter of the legendary 1986 Motocross of Nations. Teary eyed Mr. Luongo returned the thanks saying, “I was never a good rider, so I had to take a different path, but you are all fantastic riders and if it wasn’t for you I wouldn’t be here today, it would all still be just a dream, so it’s all of you I owe the thanks to.”

Wrapping up the awards, Jeffrey Herlings emerged from the darkness and through the crowd on the back of a Fiat Professional FULLBACK. He was dropped off at the stage where he collected his prizes for winning the FIM MX2 World Championship, a World Championship ring and a Tag Heuer watch.


For the complete list of award winners, see below:  

MXGP Manufacturer World Champion: Honda

MX2 Manufacturer World Champion: KTM

WMX Manufacturer World Champion: Yamaha

MXGP Winning Team: Honda Gariboldi

MX2 Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

WMX Winning Team: Team One One Four

Mechanic of the Year: Team HRC’s Roger Shenton, Junji Miyazaki, Toru Yukawa and Masaki Serizawa

Steve Bruhn Award Journalist of the year: Pascal Haudiquert

Photographer of the year: Ray Archer

“Jan De Groot” Award: Thomas Kjer Olsen

Motocross MXGP Best Cooperation: Americas, Charlotte

Motocross MXGP Best Race Track: Argentina, Neuquen

Motocross MXGP Best Media Centre: Charlotte Speedway, USA

Motocross MXGP Best Paddock: The Netherlands, Assen

Motocross MXGP Best Promotion: The Netherlands, Assen

Motocross MXGP Best Infrastructure: The Netherlands, Assen

Wings For Life: Heinz Kinigadner

EMX 65 European Champion: Edvards Bidzans

EMX 85 European Champion: Rene Hofer

EMX 125 European Champion: Jago Geerts

EMX 150 Honda European Champion: Emil Weckman

EMX 250 European Champion: Thomas Kjer Olsen

EMX 300 European Champion: Mike Kras

65cc European Open Winner: Kirill Vorobyov

85 Junior World Champion: Rene Hofer

125 Junior World Champion: Jago Geerts

Veterans’ World Cup Winner: Mats Nilsson

Women’s World Champion: Livia Lancelot

TAG HEUER Best Lap Challenge: Tim Gajser and Jeffrey Herlings

FOX HOLESHOT Award: Antonio Cairoli and Max Anstie

Motocross MXGP Best Organizer: Switzerland, Frauenfeld-Gachnang

MX2 World Champion: Jeffrey Herlings

MXGP World Champion: Tim Gajser






Monster Energy FIM MXoN Presented by FIAT Professional




Four-time world champion Tim Gajser will be aiming to make it five titles in the last seven years, when the 2021 MXGP season kicks off in June this

It’s almost go time for the 2021 season of the FIM Motocross World Championship, as we begin our countdown to the season opener.

Steve Dixon has always invested into the sport of motocross, be it with his team, or the events he has run over the years.

Glenn Coldenhoff is like fine wine; he just gets better with age.

Related news

Four-time world champion Tim Gajser will be aiming to make it five titles in the last seven years

It’s almost go time for the 2021 season of the FIM Motocross World Championship,

Steve Dixon has always invested into the sport of motocross, be it with his team, or the events h